I like animation classes at VFS – it’s great because we learn the principles by drawing first in classical animation class, and that frees our mind to think intuitively without having to grapple with graph editor or other technical aspects. Then we do the same exercise in CG Animation class, which runs in parallel. In this way, it lets me think of the key poses like drawings I’d done, and by then I would already have a sense of the timing. This is a brilliant way to learn animation.

The best thing I learned in animation is about contrast. Colin is one of my best animation teachers, because I finally grasped the essence of animation! He always points out the gist effectively, without going into lengthy rhetorics, and now as I write this, I recall how much he inspired us even in our very first animation class at VFS. 🙂

Leave a Reply

